Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 4.12 - Death And The Dog

Avg. Viewer Review: 90.8%
Number of Reviews: 9

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Only "Frasier" could do this..., Dec 22, 2011

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


Like any animal-lover, I adore Eddie. Although I'm glad he was
rarely the focus of an episode, "Death and the Dog" clever utilises
the cast, the guest players, and the canine, without ever
sacrificing the essence of the series it's on. And yet, it still feels
like an experimental episode - in a good way.

Zeljko Ivanek is always a reliable performer, although he's really a
functionary in propelling the plot here. It's great fun to see the
world from Eddie's perspective, although I agree with other
posters that Niles and Frasier's absolute disdain for the idea that
animals could feel seems a bit hoity-toity even for them.

Things take a surprising emotional turn in the final five minutes,
and it's fair to say that most sitcoms couldn't get away with this. If
"Seinfeld" is the greatest multi-camera sitcom because it chose to
cast comedians, "Frasier" may be the quintessential one: is there
anything these actors can't do?

No, "Death and the Dog" isn't perfect. But it's damn interesting.


Rating: 89%

 

Death and the Dog, Apr 30, 2010

Reviewer: Norm, Jr. from Somewhere, CA


Much like with "Dinner at Eight," I felt the boys snobbery was entirely too overplayed here. Sure, the notion of a dog shrink would make anyone crinkle their forehead, but their refusal that animals feel was a bit short-sighted. Those of us that love Eddie (and our own pets) are affected when they act out of sorts. The real highlight here are some throways that involve slapstick with Eddie and Martin's interpretation of F & N ("Meee-meee-mee, dad"; Yada-yada-Eddie!"), plus Roz and the gyno. A completely unexpected, but abuntantly effective close sees the cast in a deep discussion about the fates. One of those scenes you watch alone and say, "Gosh, I wish I had people like this around to swap theories with." These actors are GOOD.


Rating: 87%

 

My kids favourite, Oct 13, 2009

Reviewer: Nicole from SC


I have this episode saved and left ready at the spot where Eddie hears Frasier, Niles and Daphne in his own special language. Whenever they have had a bad day I play this little segment and it always makes them crack up.


Rating: 91%

 

Death and The Dog, Sep 23, 2009

Reviewer: Brandon Gastelum from Tucson, AZ


This was brilliantly written as so many of the episodes are. What really stood out for me was Niles' haunting rendition of "Oh where oh where has my little dog gone" on the piano. He plays it in a minor key and slows it down to add to the depressing note.


Rating: 90%

 

another hit for Eddie & co, Nov 24, 2008

Reviewer: Tid from SW England


Apparently this episode was written by the same writer who wrote the equally
excellent Frasier Loves Roz - I admire her as she is not afraid to introduce more
serious themes and moments, instead of always striving for cheap laughs like
some writers (the exception being the close of this one - Frasier delivers a nice
speech on air about enjoying life while living in the moment, closing with "eat
a cookie" at which point he breaks a tooth - couldn't see THAT coming hahaha!)

What makes this one particularly good is the way Frasier and Niles "gang up"
on the dog psychiatrist, without falling flat on their faces as usual; also the
scenes involving Eddie, then Martin, hearing mostly noises instead of proper
speech (debuted by the Far Side cartoon series but no less funny for that). Plus
the running "Roz and the gynaecologist" gag.

So, not a classic maybe, but a well above average episode.


Rating: 89%

 

Death and the Dog Review, Jul 27, 2008

Reviewer: Kat from Australia


I absolutely loved this episode. I think it is yet another one that makes "Frasier" as outstanding as it is.


Rating: 98%

 

Death and the Dog, May 28, 2007

Reviewer: Liam from Kent


A rather thought-provoking episode based around the depression of Eddie. When a dog phsychiatrist comes to analyze Eddie, Frasier and Niles dismiss it as 'fake', but it brings on thoughts about death from the whole family.

Fave quote is
Martin: Your lying in bed, and you pretend your in the ground.
Frasier: No, that's just you.

It'll probably make no sense out of context but it's funny in the episode.
Anyway, one of the best, so I'll rate it high.


Rating: 99%

 

'Death And The Dog' review, Jun 12, 2005

Reviewer: Jocelyn from London


Canine psychology comes to the fore in this cleverly structured episode which is told in flashback from KACL as Frasier tells his listeners of Eddie's recent bout of depression, alongside another tale involving Roz's unease at dating a gynaecologist. The highlight here is the arrival of straight-faced dog psychiatrist Dr Arnold Shaw, who has to put up with numerous unwanted wisecracks from Frasier and Niles who find the whole notion of his work impossible to take seriously. Brilliantly funny lines abound in this scene, as Martin completes a questionaire about Eddie's behaviour with sarcastic suggestions from his sons as well as bizarre interjections from Daphne, who follows all her answers with 'I don't know why'. In the end, Eddie's depression is merely due to him missing his favourite doll, but his behaviour spurs on the rest of the characters to face up to their own depression in a closing scene which is beautifully written and demonstrates why 'Frasier' is so far above other sitcoms, especially as the sombre tone is suddenly lightened up with the arrival of cookies for all. Moose's acting is on top form here in a superior episode which manages to be both funny and insightful in equal measure.


Rating: 85%

 

DEATH AND THE DOG, Jun 07, 2005

Reviewer: Cake for Brains from Manchester, UK


‘Death and the Dog’ proves to be yet another classic episode in the fourth season, and is memorable for one of Moose’s greatest ever performances as Eddie. The plot itself is very good and extremely well put together, with a dog psychiatrist being one of the main highlights of the season, as well as everybody realising there depressed. Suzanne Martin, who up until now had written two rather below par episodes (Frasier Loves Roz, Love Bites Dog) delivers a dazzlingly funny script that manages to make the best of all six (including Eddie) central characters.

The episode begins with Frasier’s KACL radio show, and on a particularly slow day of callers, he decides to recollect the story of how Eddie became profoundly depressed. Moose unflinchingly sad portrayal of a down in the dumps Eddie is wonderful, as he lies, still and far away on Martin’s chair. Martin trying to coax Eddie out of this position with a plastic hamburger is very funny:
MARTIN: I sure hope you don’t take a bite out of the other side!
Niles’ stubborn Maris-substitute canine also makes another welcome appearance, but not even she ‘doing her stuff’ can cheer Eddie up. As a last resort therefore Martin calls for a dog psychiatrist
DAPHNE: Do you suppose a dog psychiatrist could be the answer?
FRASIER: Only if the question is what is the most asinine thing we can possibly do!

Dr. Arnold Shaw, the dog psychiatrist arrives on the scene and a particular highlight is when he compiles a questionnaire about what Eddie would be like if he were a human being. In response to what a human Eddie would serve at a dinner party is memorable:
MARTIN: I'd say meatloaf. But not the plain kind, but the one with the fancy tomato soup glaze on top.
NILES: It might be a bit under done though, he has trouble reaching the knobs on the stove!

The last scene is also very well executed when the main protagonists dig deep into their subconscious to see if they are giving off signals of unhappiness to Eddie. We get some great one-liners from everyone here, most noticeably Roz’s death wish ‘When I die I want it to be on my hundredth birthday in my beach house on Maui, and I want my husband to be so upset he has to drop out of college!’

However my favourite quote would from Niles (as usual)
NILES: I’ve always rather liked the notion of meeting great figures from history. But then I think what if its like high school and all the cool dead people don’t want to hang out with me. Mozart will tell me he’s busy but later I’ll see him with Lincoln and Gandhi

In conclusion the episode has a delightful resolution with Eddie’s happiness being cured by him finding his favourite doll and cookies take everyone else’s blues away! The moral of this highly enjoyable episode is that ‘even the happiest of us can find reasons to be unhappy if we look for them, so don’t look for them’. Wonderful stuff!


Rating: 89%