Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 7.15 - Out With Dad

Avg. Viewer Review: 90.4%
Number of Reviews: 13

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Will you be my Ballantyne?, May 17, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


"How many straight men remember Renata Tebaldi?" Indeed.

The much-publicised second act of "Frasier"'s gay trilogy, "Out with Dad" is a superb spin on "The Matchmaker". True, where that episode was a flawless farce in which every line was hysterical, this episode takes a while to build to the hilarity. Nevertheless, it's enjoyable from start to finish.

The anguished Niles, denied anywhere for Valentine's Day except the Salad Experience, delivers one of my favourite lines from the show: " May your opera box be full of cellophane crinklers and a stage swarming with stand-bys!". Kelsey Grammer also has a lot of fun; I particularly enjoy his fake snooty laughter after telling Daphne the truth about the situation.

But this is very much John Mahoney's episode, he really is a scene-stealer. Frasier and Martin spend a night at the opera (with a surprisingly small appearance by the lovely Mary-Louise Wilson), and it's quite nice to see Martin in this environment. (The series usually mines more comedy out of Frasier being the fish out of water.) What I appreciate is that season 7 Martin - the man who organised a birthday surprise for his son a few weeks ago - would rather feign enthusiasm than simply gruffly complain.

Back at the apartment, things get out of control quickly, and it's astonishingly well written. Martin's inadvertent flirtations, Daphne's quick and giggling exit, and the masterful interplay between Niles and Martin. (Where last time Maris was the unseen interloper, now it's Mel.) The resolution is really very sweet. Edward is too kind of a character to be simply thrown out by the comedy. Instead, all of the characters realise the seriousness of their behaviour. The sequence where Edward and Martin bond over the things they do for their children is genuinely affecting.

Ultimately, "Out with Dad" is surprisingly different to its predecessor, but really just as amusing. It may not have that episode's mercenary wit (the situation is treated more seriously overall) but it makes up for it in quick-thinking dialogue and character interaction.


Rating: 97%

 

Divine!, Mar 07, 2012

Reviewer: Tid from England


(I've awarded this 100% - I'd actually rate it 95% but I wanted to
compensate for the sad person who gave it 40%).

I've little to add to the previous reviews which were mostly right on the
money. Just to say that I love the way that Martin criticises opera for
being "too full of stuff that doesn't happen in real life - everyone's in
love, everyone's pretending to be someone else", then finds himself in
the middle of a situation (fantastically scripted by Joe Keenan) that is
pure opera!

Never did John Mahoney or David Hyde Pierce act better than in this
episode which contains several laugh out loud moments.


Rating: 100%

 

One of my all time favourites!, Jun 22, 2011

Reviewer: DHPfan from Anytown, AT 55555


This episode was truly a Frasier classic, providing the best laugh out
loud moments, combined with a few 'How could he be so stupid?'
moments. As usual, David Hyde Pierce's timing was impeccable, and
after one look at his expression when Martin called him 'Honey!' I
burst into peals of laughter along with my family. Any episode with
David Hyde Pierce in it never fails to get a few loud laughs from me,
and this was one of those episodes. It really shone out of the more
boring season 7 episodes, livening up the season that was criticized
by many as being one of the worse seasons. From Niles' mortified
expression upon realizing that he was supposed to pretend to be
his father's boyfriend, to Daphne's sudden loud laughter from the
kitchen, and not forgetting Martin's hilarious uncomfortable
expression when Edward placed his hand on Martin's knee, this
episode really, in my opinion, outshone most of the others in the
season.


Rating: 99%

 

In my top 3 funniest episodes!, Dec 31, 2009

Reviewer: Angie Foley from Princeton WV


When I laugh out loud alone, I know it's funny. A Frasier Classic!


Rating: 100%

 

Niles memorable curse!, Nov 17, 2009

Reviewer: Roz's pal from New York


I will not review the entire episode, as the previous review is fantastic.

However, no one mentioned the best line of the show!

When Frasier is upset with Niles for going out with his girlfriend instead of him, and refuses to
give Niles his opera ticket despite Niles' begging, finally Niles storms out in a huff:

"May your opera box be filled with cellophane crinklers and a stage swarming with standbys!"

It's the best curse I've ever seen!


Rating: 87%

 

We'll have a gay old time (again!), Jan 05, 2009

Reviewer: David Sim from Skelmersdale, Lancashire


Many fans believe Frasier has always been a magnificent sitcom. I'm not sure I agree. Season 1 is perfectly watchable, and has its share of fine episodes, but it also contains a few that are a bit lacking in some areas. Some episodes in the early days of Frasier are not quite as polished as they should be. The show was still finding its footing, and it was only when it got into Season 2 that it finally found it. And that's because of one man.

Joe Keenan. It was when he joined the staff in the second season that Frasier went from being a good sitcom to a great one. His input is what transformed it into the magnificent sitcom it is. And the more influence he got over the show, the better it became.

Joe Keenan blew everyone away with his astonishing debut, The Matchmaker. It was actually the second episode he wrote, but it was the first to be shown by the network. In fact it should have been the opening episode of that season rather than the underwhelming Slow Tango in South Seattle. And its still one of the funniest in Frasier's history. A gay man misreads Frasier's sexuality, leading to all sorts of hilarious mix-ups and mishaps.

Joe Keenan enjoys exploring gay themes for comedic purposes. Openly gay in real life, he's published several novels on the subject just as funny as anything in Frasier. Keenan once commented Frasier & Niles are the two gayest men on television! Out With Dad is a chance for him to revisit the theme. Some people have (unfairly) called it a blatant rehash of The Matchmaker. I disagree. Yes it uses gay mix-ups as the basis for spiralling farce. But it draws out new laughs from new possibilities, where over the course of a single Valentines' night, Martin has to play gay!

It all starts when Frasier & Niles are planning a boys night out at the opera(!). Niles cancels at the last minute, and Frasier has to settle for Martin instead. While they're at the opera, Joe Keenan takes the opportunity to indulge in some postmodern commentary. The opera they're seeing sounds uncannily like some of Keenan's previous plotlines, 'everybody pretending to be somebody else" is The Two Mrs Cranes for sure. But it also serves as an effective way of setting up the second act.

Frasier catches the eye of Emily at the opera, and her mother is interested in Martin. When he tries to give her a polite brush-off, she assumes he's gay, and when Martin hastily agrees, he has no idea what he's let himself in for. Emily decides to stop over at Frasiers, and as an added bonus, she's brought along her gay Uncle Edward for Martin!

Its when we get back to Frasier's apartment that Out With Dad hits giddy heights. Joe Keenan's talent for double-meanings really pays off as Edward flirts with a blissfully ignorant Martin:

Edward: Lets have a beer Marty!
Martin: A man after my own heart!

Much as Frasier dug himself deeper and deeper into a hole of his own doing in The Matchmaker, Martin does the same here. If that's all there was to Out With Dad, then I'd agree its a rehash. But this is just for starters. Keenan has more in store. When Martin worries he might get found out, he decides to gay it up to the max! I think this may be John Mahoney's finest hour on the show. Buzzing his way through the part like a fairy on too much pixie dust, its an actors triumph:

Martin: Emily, I love your hair! Its divine! I'm gay! I like myself! I'm not living a lie anymore!

The episode just gets funnier and funnier. When Martin realises Edward's gay (Frasier: He didn't seem gay to you? Martin: No, he just seemed British), and that they're on a date, he has to try like hell to weasel his way out of this. Its at this point that Out With Dad hits critical mass when Niles chooses this moment to come in. When Martin calls him "Darling", and the audience explodes, its wonderful because we know exactly where this is headed.

Ever since David Hyde Pierce came out of the closet, it only makes Niles acting as Martin's boyfriend all the more funny. Its what makes the episode an undisputed classic. When he has to dump Dad, Niles' hissy fit is a superb finish to a marvellous episode.

Joe Keenan would again return to gay farce in the Season 11 classic The Doctor Is Out. All three episodes of Keenan's gay trilogy are excellent, but while many would say The Matchmaker is the best, I think that honour goes to Out With Dad. The comedy in it is so blackly funny the way Keenan's script continually turns with increasingly crueller twists. By the end of the episode, I felt completely worn out.

What a triumphant episode! Joe Keenan's masterful script and David Lee's slick, fast-paced direction is a winning combination. This would be Joe Keenan's last solo effort before his three year break away from the show. His absence would have a crippling effect on it. Still, it was a good one to go out on. After The Two Mrs Cranes, Out With Dad is by far Joe Keenan's finest hour.


Rating: 100%

 

Better than its prototype, Mar 15, 2008

Reviewer: Derek Mann from Manchester, England


Seems absolutely bizarre to re-make a very memorable episode from an earlier series - did they think we wouldn't notice?

I don't think it was done in a 'postmodern' way either. Joe Keenan probably stumbled upon a rough copy of his old "Matchmaker" script one day and thought "Hey! This would make a great episode of Frasier" (not realising that it already was a great episode of Frasier.)

That said, I think the re-make is a slight improvement on the original. If I had to choose between "The Matchmaker" and "Out With Dad" I would take the latter, for John Mahoney's performance.

P.S. The later episode featuring Patrick Stewart in this exact same plot is a re-hash too many!


Rating: 90%

 

Bliss, Jul 17, 2007

Reviewer: Streetworker from Manchester, UK


Of course it's a rehash of The Matchmaker. But who cares? If you're going to rewrite an episode, make sure you choose a classic. Joe Keenan certainly did when he revisited that season 2 show here. But Out With Dad rings the changes sufficiently to stand alone. This is one of Martin's best-ever episodes, and while David Hyde Pierce has slightly less to do than usual, he more than makes the best of his limited screentime. "They think the best I can do is an old man with a cane" is one of the best-delivered Niles lines in the entire series. A classic from start to finish.


Rating: 97%

 

out with dad, Jun 08, 2007

Reviewer: wd from Chicago


One of the very best episodes. Even if it rehashes the great Matchmaker episode. There were enough differences to make it seem new. I loved how Niles felt insulted that he couldn't do better than the old man. An episode I never tire of.


Rating: 94%

 

The Episode That Got Me Hooked On The Show., Dec 29, 2006

Reviewer: KC from New Jersey


This episode is definitely in the top five of my favorite Fraiser episodes, and was the first episode that got me addicted to Fraiser. While the first half was okay, the second half had me rolling and I nearly fell of the couch when Niles comes in as Martin's boyfriend.

John Mahoney does a stellar job acting "gay", and definitely has the best performance of the episode, though everyone else does a stellar job in this episode too. If you like Fraiser, even the eensiest bit, watch this episode. I will assure you that by the end of it, you'll have laughed out loud at least once.


Rating: 94%

 

 
 

Continue to Page 2