Frasier Online
home About The Show Episode Guide Merchandise Forum Reviews Gallery Contact
Episode reviews for Episode 6.04 - Hot Ticket

Avg. Viewer Review: 66.8%
Number of Reviews: 8

Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Seinfeldian, May 11, 2013

Reviewer: Sammy J from Melbourne, Australia


Wow. I feel as if I'm usually in rough agreement with fandom about an episode's quality (with one notable exception in season 11), but I must be out from the pack this time. I really like "Hot Ticket", and always have since I first saw it back when it was first released on DVD.

I'd be the first to agree that "Hot Ticket" isn't a laugh-a-minute. Nor does its comedy-of-errors plot have the same farcical structure as the best of Crane. It's more - as someone else pointed out here - Seinfeldian. Frasier and Niles spend most of the episode flitting back and forth between a theatre and the apartment trying to fake like they've seen a play they couldn't get into. To my mind, it works.

Again, the episode takes a common-enough situation - people arriving with tickets for the wrong performance - and lets it spiral out of control. It's perfectly likely that Frasier and Niles would be stressed both by missing a cultural event of this magnitude and by the awkwardness of being seen in that situation. "Hot Ticket" allows them to rise above the pettiness of the situation while also (yes, predictably) giving in to their baser natures at the end.

"Hot Ticket" isn't a classic, but I think it's a perfectly acceptable episode. Even an average instalment of this show's sixth season is a stellar performance for most sitcoms.


Rating: 81%

 

Hot Ticket, Oct 06, 2011

Reviewer: Mary G Allison from Akron, Ohio


The episode was ok. Not the best episode but not the worst either.


Rating: 70%

 

Why couldn't they bring the final curtain down on this one?, Apr 28, 2011

Reviewer: David Sim from Skelmersdale, Lancashire


After the delightful Dial M For Martin, Season 6 goes the other way, and hits its lowest point yet with Hot Ticket. In fact this one was probably the weakest episode of Frasier to air so far. It scores points for ignoring Frasier's unemployment for an episode. But loses them again by instead focusing on a plotline just as boring.

Frasier and Niles have scored tickets to the hottest theatre event of the season. But when they turn out for the wrong performance, the Crane Boys are at a loose end. They're left with a dilemma. Miss the show. Or risk the indignity of standing in the cancellation line, and lose respect in the eyes of they're peers.

If Hot Ticket sounds thin on plot to you, you're absolutely right. And that's all the more surprising because it was written by none other then Jeffrey Richman. Richman can be capable of fine writing. E.g. To Kill a Talking Bird, Voyage of the Damned. Or just look no further than his next episode, Dinner Party. But Hot Ticket is an embarrassment. I know Roz and the Schnoz is a Richman episode that comes in for a lot of stick, but Hot Ticket is more disappointing than that entire episode put together. By far the worst thing he's ever written.

The drab atmosphere hits in from the very beginning. Its nearly a whole minute before we even hear any laughs from the audience! Its not like there isn't comedy here. It just didn't seem very funny to me. Daphne arrives with her picture in the newspaper, and the scene drags after that. Here's an example:

Daphne: For instance, if they took a picture of Mr Crane, the caption would read Martin Crane, Seattle. Or if they took one of you it would read Frasier Crane, Seattle.

See how utterly unfunny the dialogue is? Its hard to believe such cringeworthy writing from the man who brought such snap, crackle and pop to all those above episodes I mentioned. Sadly, the rest of the episode does nothing to improve things.

Frasier and Niles' snobbery can certainly make entertaining viewing, as long as its supported by strong storytelling. But that didn't happen here. The fact they don't want to be seen in the cancellation line is petty even for them. All it does is turn the two of them into ridiculous idiots.

I did enjoy Frasier finding out that Niles bleaches his teeth. And Niles discovering that Frasier dyes his hair. But the plot (such as it is) is uninvolving. The humour is obvious. And the behaviour is scarcely believable. The denoument is also one of the dullest I've seen. I won't bore you with the details. The scene itself does a good enough job of that all by itself. We even get an irritating little moral at the end too. Plus a tag scene in need of a good punchline. One expected a whole lot more from Jeffrey Richman. A definite contender for worst episode of the season.


Rating: 49%

 

Hot Ticket, May 25, 2010

Reviewer: Norm, Jr. from Somewhere, CA


Wow, a lowly rated ep that I actually enjoyed. Sure, this one's lazy and mostly uninvolving (an odd spot for a "season filler"), but there's something to the boys' plight that drew me in. That bit of harried "drama" of them trying to secure theater seats to a show where it's more important to be seen than to see. As with most location shoots (a majority of this takes place outside a performing arts center), the canned studio laughter over only middling jokes gives off that uncomfortable air. But things are rescued by F & N's mad scrap through newspaper piles, and Frasier's rather touching dissertation of the effect that theater has on the human spirit. Fritz Weaver is exceedingly winning as Sir Treavor, taking to Frasier's kind words as any aging artist would. So, despite a flimsy plot and a sore lack of howler laughs, this one still works much better than "Frasier's Curse" a couple eps back.


Rating: 78%

 

Not the best by a long way, Nov 23, 2008

Reviewer: Tom M from Cumbria, England


Hmmm, there seemed to be only one plot in this episode. Quite strange, especially considering the one plot was quite dull. After the brilliant previous episode, it's a shame that "Hot Ticket" is a bit of let down: the plot drags on; the Kendals are annoying. There are now real "laugh out loud" moments here, the funniest thing in the episode itself is Niles attempting to smoke and then coughing up! The tag scene was good one, however, with Niles surropticiously stealing a newspaper with a revealing picture of Daphne! Not the best episode around.


Rating: 55%

 

Ouch!, Jan 12, 2007

Reviewer: Me123 from Scotland, UK


There are very few episodes of Frasier that i would describe as painful. Unfortunately, this has to be one of them.

At the start of the episode, it appears to be going somewhere, with the theatre storyline promising some good laughs, and Daphne's newspaper moment:

Daphne: Oh, don't be such an old fogey. So I'm bending down
and me knickers are showing a bit, but my family'll still
be proud as peacocks when they see that: "Daphne
Moon's Seattle".

-Martin and Frasier share a smile.-

Frasier: She certainly does.

shows a good episode on it's way.

However, the opening scene proves to be an anti-climax. After a typical scene at the theatre, Frasier and Niles return the next evening to wait in the cancellation line. This is when their snobbery destroys the episode. Whilst it is in their character to do what they do, it is excruciatingly painful to see them fail to get their tickets, and as they dig themselves into a deeper hole, it gets worse and worse. Although, Niles learning how to smoke is certainly worth a few laughs:

Niles: [crushing out his cigarette] My God, these things are
turning me green!

After they move through many more painful moments, including Daphne's photo again, they end up at a dinner party talking to Sir Trevor, and after the painful discussion, upon Niles's departure it becomes a reflective moment; one which saves the show.

I am sure I am then not the only person who is glad that they refuse to dine with Sir Trevor, and the episode almost makes up for itself when they turn their backs on the snobbish lifestyle. Could this be a turning point leading into a different future, hence making this dry episode understandably so?

Alas, the inevitable happens, and they go to the Sunday brunch, which makes me feel that this episode will not lie anywhere near the top of the "Frasier" episode chart. Unfortunately, it shall have to be nearer the tail end, being saved by it's secondary stroyline and some more great acting from DHP in the smoking scene.


Rating: 62%

 

Review of 'Hot Ticket', Mar 01, 2006

Reviewer: Nick from North Wales, U.K.


An episode which has a 'Frasier by numbers' feel and one which fails to produce many amusing moments. The Crane brothers are desperate to see the hottest theatrical event in town but without tickets are forced to queue in the cancellation line. What follows is a perfectly portrayal of Frasier and Niles' snobbery which just seems to have been seen too many times before.


Rating: 68%

 

'Hot Ticket' review, Jul 13, 2005

Reviewer: Jocelyn from London, UK


Writer Jeffrey Richman turned in some superb episodes (To Kill A Talking Bird, Voyage Of The Damned, Dinner Party) during his time on 'Frasier' but sadly this isn't one of them. Much of the first half feels like an attempt to do a 'Seinfeld'-style show about nothing as the Crane brothers find themselves having to queue for return tickets to see a performance of 'Tales Of The Mariner'. The Frasier/Niles double act is always worth watching but their horror at being seen standing in the cancellation line by a couple of high society friends makes their behaviour seem far too petty for me care much about this storyline, which is too slight and drawn out to be of much interest anyway. The second half isn't a great deal better as Frasier and Niles find themselves invited to an exclusive party where they meet Sir Trevor Ainsley and find themselves having to describe scenes from a play which they haven't even seen. There are a few bright moments here; Frasier learning of his brother's teeth bleaching and then Niles learning that his brother dyes his hair is quite amusing while Niles' lame excuse of getting out of having to describe the play to Sir Trevor by checking on his non-existent kids is great. Otherwise, this is a curious and inconsequential episode which never really gets going.


Rating: 71%